When Does Goodness End?

What if I write a book that enables poor people to start their own businesses and earn an income that provides for their family and I sell it for $15? Then I donate $5 from every sale to a fund that helps some of those businesses get off the ground.

What if I sell 1,000 books? I’ve made about $8,000 (after subtracting the cost of my book) which allows me to make more books and help more people. I’ve distributed a book that has helped at least 1,000 people provide for their families. And I’ve donated $5,000 towards a fund for their businesses. Many would say I have now graduated to being a “good person”.

What if I sell a million books? Now I’ve helped over a million people provide for their families and donated $5 Million.

But I also made $8 Million for myself. So what happens if I buy a nice Range Rover that costs me $80,000? That’s a small percentage of my income, so it’s similar to a blue collar worker buying a Honda Accord.

Is my “goodness” really relative to the amount of good I do? Or is it just tied to the amount of money people are comfortable with me making? When does my income negate my goodness? And how?

The post When Does Goodness End? appeared first on JaredAngaza.com.

Join the conversation

or to participate.