The Revolution Begins

The Revolution Begins

I’ve been studying the concept of ubuntu, a South African philosophy, since I was about 15 years old. The ancient philosophy posits that we are all intrinsically connected, unable to reach our full human potential as individuals. We can only manifest our truest, most enlightened selves through consistent interaction with other humans.

I’ve detailed my interpretation of the principles of ubuntu here, as an explanation of what this blog is petitioning.

The idea of the ubuntu belief and practice played an integral role in my decision to dedicate myself to Africa over the last 20 years, which ultimately led me to spending the past nine years living in East Africa full time. Now I’m on to the next chapter with a whole arsenal of experiences to pull from.

After two decades of dedicated studies and experiments in this unified ubuntu philosophy, I am dedicating myself to amplifying that philosophy though this blog, and a myriad of other activities.

But movements and revolutions don’t happen on their own. None of this means anything without you.

We’ve seen some spectacular revolutions over the years. I believe the world is ripe for a new one, and it’s already bubbling. This is a revolution designed to unite, rather than divide us. One that is founded in love and equality.

The hippies of the late 60s had the principles right, they just didn’t have the proper tools to channel their power and amplify their voice. Now we do {thank you Internet}. And we have for long enough that people are already beginning to understand that we are desperately in need of reforming the social and economic systems that have formed our current global agreements.

For those of you that have followed my blog over the years, you are about to witness a significant transition in my blog content and tone. One that is much more bold and direct. It’s time. For those of you that know me personally, none of this will come as a surprise. I’ve always pulled my punches when blogging. That served a purpose for a time. Now we are in a new age.

I would be honored if you would help me turn this initiative into a movement. You can sign up for this blog RSS feed {right below this post} and get these posts in your inbox. You can follow on Twitter here.

Spread the word to anyone you think would appreciate this. This is where it begins.

“A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.”  ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

In the same way, the belief that we can foster a global society founded in ubuntu ceases to be an unattainable dream the moment you embrace your idealism, believe and start taking small, consistent steps towards a revolution you believe in.

The post The Revolution Begins appeared first on JaredAngaza.com.

Join the conversation

or to participate.