Clear Eyes & Open Hearts

old town mombasa, kenya {one of my favorite hangouts}

old town mombasa, kenya {one of my favorite hangouts}

In 2006, I gave away everything I owned, left my partnership at the private equity firm and transplanted myself to Rwanda. I wanted to reinvent myself through new experiences and become more of who I wanted to be. To say that my time in East Africa {Rwanda, DRC, Uganda, Kenya} involved some difficult times would be quite an understatement.

I witnessed so much heartache and so many experiences that I have yet to understand. I also witnessed some of the most human moments I’ve ever had the privileged to experience before.

Over the past decade, I’ve come to understand that tragedy and beauty are inextricably intertwined. I must release my fear of tragedy in order to truly experience profound beauty.

In early 2006, I met a young street kid named Francois. Over time, he became my son. We have been by each other’s side since. Across eight years in Rwanda and Kenya, he taught me more about humanity and family than I could have ever fathomed. He changed me. I thank God for him.

In 2007, I met Ilea Dorsey {Angaza} in Rwanda as we united to build KEZA. After a lifetime of searching, soul mates were joined together and our journey continued, more powerful than ever before. In 2012, Saoirse Sky Angaza entered our lives as an unimaginable force. I have been her greatest admirer and pupil, since.

Francois is 20 now. He’s been preparing to return Rwanda for the past year. It’s time for him to go on his own walkabout, to discover himself and his purpose. But this is not a moment for goodbyes. Not at all. This is only the next chapter, of which we all look towards with great excitement and anticipation of extraordinary things.

Africa is forever engrained in our hearts and minds. It’s part of us. I am eternally grateful for the perspective that came from the decades dedicated to studying, listening, experiencing and learning from Mama Africa. I suspect there are many lessons yet to enter my psyche as I continue to process through the experiences. I also still have my agency there, which I will continue to direct with my partners.

We carry all the souls and all the experiences from Africa with us as we journey into the next chapter. It was an awakening most are never so fortunate to experience.

We will spend a few months back home in Nashville, soaking up the time with family and friends, taking time to meditate, dive deep into our yoga practices, cleanse, listen, learn, gain energy and prepare for the next chapter of our lives. One that will place us in the center of a completely different continent, a vibrant and creative culture and back on the coast, where we feel most at home.

It will be a time of discovery and creation. A time of peace. A time of self actualization. And a time to amplify our united goal to champion an ubuntu revolution.

We greet the next evolution of our lives with gratitude, a broader worldview perspective, unbounded love for humanity, clear eyes and open hearts.

The post Clear Eyes & Open Hearts appeared first on JaredAngaza.com.

Join the conversation

or to participate.