Am I Depriving My Children?

Am I Sheltering My Children?

The discussion of “sheltering" has come up more as our kids interact in the community. We don’t have a TV, our kids don’t have phones, and Ilea and I don't spend much time on our screens either.

The kids don’t even know what a video game is. They see a film every now and then. Moana and The Greatest Showman are faves that we watch regularly because we appreciate their messages. 

My kids aren’t exposed to violence on a screen. Other parents tell me “they need to see what’s real in the world”, or similar statements. But I don’t believe that violence is all that is real, or that it should receive our attention or focus. 

I have to wonder what the motivation is for parents that attempt to normalize violence in their children's lives. It seems that's a lot more about convenience for the parents, rather than the wellbeing of the child. 

It could be said that I am sheltering my children. Perhaps. But we all need shelter from elements that could harm us, even emotionally. 

There is a vast difference between sheltering and intentionality. We are intentional and disciplined about what we allow to influence our children's psyche. Their minds are being hard wired right now. I want to ensure they are hard-wired with love, rather than violence. 

Is that sheltering? Perhaps. What do you think? Is it sheltering or intentionality? I’d love to hear your thoughts! 

I’m going to be discussing this more in an upcoming podcast series on Noetic, about conscious parenting. Coming soon…www.noeticpodcast.com

The post Am I Depriving My Children? appeared first on JaredAngaza.com.

Join the conversation

or to participate.